Mondelēz International, Inc. and the Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF) and have selected the inaugural cohort of their newly formed Mondelēz International HBCU Scholarship program. 

The Mondelēz International Scholars are students from TMCF member-schools, which are America’s publicly-supported Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and Predominantly Black Institutions (PBIs).

“This exciting partnership with Mondelēz International is another example of the diverse set of global partners that value and want to make long-term investments in the development and success of HBCU students through the Thurgood Marshall College Fund,” TMCF President & CEO Dr. Harry L. Williams said. “We applaud their commitment to the Black College community.”

Mondelēz International will contribute $3 million in scholarships, immersion/bootcamps and professional development to TMCF over the next four years to increase higher education access and completion among minority students and underserved communities and to support educational programs that prepare HBCU students for success in corporate careers. 

The core of this partnership is the Mondelēz International HBCU Scholarship, a four-year needs-based scholarship for students attending TMCF member-schools. The Mondelēz International Scholars were selected after an intensive application process. The inaugural cohort, who are first-year college students, will each receive up to $9,000 in scholarships per year for four years. Further, in addition to scholarships, immersion programs, and professional development, scholars will have opportunities to secure internships and full-time employment after graduation.

“We are tremendously proud of the MDLZ/Thurgood Marshall scholarship recipients,” said Jamey Martin, lead of diversity, equity and inclusion NA at Mondelēz International. “After all of their hard work and dedication to their education, we are honored to support them on their journey.”

The inaugural Mondelēz International Scholars are:

Alcorn State University

Taylor Robinson

Florida A&M University

Cameron Boyd

Howard University

Jada Crockett

Michael Davis

Naysa Harraway

Darin Johnson

Alexis Thomas

Morgan State University

Nadia Quartey

North Carolina A&T State University

Maya Brobbey

Jordan Hudson

Ayanna Humphries

Southern University and A&M College

Charia Ratliff

Texas Southern University

Autumne Robinson

Tuskegee University

Chase Kimble

Winston-Salem State University

Denay Cuffee

Established in 1987, the Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF) is the nation’s largest organization exclusively representing the Black college community. TMCF member-schools include the publicly-supported Historically Black Colleges and Universities and Predominantly Black Institutions, enrolling nearly 80 percent of all students attending black colleges and universities.