Fazer Confectionery makes Pure Dark chocolate vegan-friendly
Finnish company plans to introduce Crunch Hazelnut flavor this year.
January 10, 2019
Fazer Confectionery is removing milk fat from the recipe of its Fazer Pure Dark chocolate to better serve vegan consumers.
Made with 70% cocoa that’s responsibly sourced, Fazer Pure Dark chocolate is high in fiber and rich in flavanols, potassium and magnesium, which have beneficial effects on the nervous system and blood vessels. Fazer Pure Dark is the first Fazer product to be marked with the Fazer Brainhow logo. The Fazer Brainhow logo indicates that the product is a particularly good choice for the well-being of the brain.
According to a health claim approved by the European Union, the flavanols in cocoa help maintain the elasticity of blood vessels, which promotes normal circulation. To extract their health benefits, 200 milligrams of flavanols should be consumed daily as part of a well-balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle. Consumers can get this amount from just under one-third of a bar of Pure Dark chocolate.
Pure Dark chocolate no longer lists any dairy or other animal-based components in its ingredients. However, the product is produced on a line where milk is processed, so the possibility of cross-contamination does exist. Therefore, Pure Dark packaging states “May contain other nuts, almonds, milk and wheat.” Additionally, Fazer added “produced on the same line as milk chocolate” to packaging.
“Fazer has been getting consumer feedback for a long time asking for chocolate that would be compatible with a vegan diet,” says Riina Hagman, brand manager at Fazer Confectionery. “Now, we are fulfilling these wishes by making Fazer Pure Dark chocolates suitable for vegans. We are also introducing a new flavor: Fazer Pure Dark Crunchy Hazelnut.”